top of page
Search

The power of controlling your emotions and taking advantage of that moment.

Updated: May 10, 2020

Finding a niche you never thought you had.


- March 24th, 2019

- Mallow 10 mile road race


I remember waking up to a text message that my beloved dog Makaveli had been involved in a fatal road traffic accident tragedy in Perth, Western Australia. This incident took place weeks before he was registered to fly home to me in Cork, Ireland. Anybody who's a close friend to me, or had met my dog or ever lost a pet themselves can relate and would understand how much something like that would break me, but we're not going to get into it we're going to keep this about running!


Hours later, I was signed up for my first long distance race which was a stacked 10 miler in Mallow, Cork. 1501 runners had signed up for the race. My dad Shane brought me to the race, I had tears running down my face the whole journey. He knew how I was feeling and it was okay that we didn't speak as it would only choke me up. I had my headphones in and I'll never forget which song I had on repeat the whole way to psych myself up 'Tupac - Last motherf**ker breathin'.


The start line adrenaline mixed with my enhanced emotional state was real. Anyone who has run the Mallow 10 mile knows how narrow the streets are around the starting line. It reminded me of the streets of Ennis or Killarney on a crowded day. The weather was fair, with glimmers of sunshine throughout. I knew I could run the distance, prior to this date 16km would be the furthest I'd run, I was only a 5-12km runner. Fifteen hundred people stacked back and awaiting the startline gun, I nudged my way closer to the top of the line as I wanted to get out of the town centre as soon as possible to enter a flow state.


My aim was to finish the race in under 1 hour 30 minutes. I had the 'Map my run' application set up on my phone which was strapped to the side of my bicep telling me my average pace & distance, after 2km's I knew something special was happening. This is where controlling emotion comes into my story of running. I was running "4:02" km's which for anybody who knows nothing about running is a '2 hour 50 minute' full marathon pace! The average pace of a full marathon is over 4 hours.


I had run 6km's in 23 minutes and was begining to stitch up and feel terrible. Tears were starting to run down the side of my face and I was breathing heavy. Why are you doing this, why are you pushing yourself this hard, is it worth it? All the questions runners ask themselves in moments of suffering. All the questions people ask themselves through adversity in LIFE in general. This is where controlling emotion comes into the story of running, I can't tell you how I was able to run a quicker 10km to finish the race from that moment onwards but I know it was completely down to the pain I was feeling inside, nothing was comparable.


I finished the race in a time of 01:05:59 (net time) in 117th place. My last two km's were in a pace of '3:49' or better average KM pace. I remember lying on a grassy bank, yards past the fnish line wondering what the f**k just happened, but I knew in that moment it was going to be the start of my running journey. I wasn't an athlete, I was average or just above average at any sport I had played as a kid, but how someone with no training, no specific running training could run a time like that down to emotions & adrenaline blew my mind. Thanking Cian McGovern for the finish line picture that day.



I couldn't run for days, I could barely walk. I thought I had a bad case of shin splints. I enjoyed the victory pain too much. "Enlightment through suffering" for anyone who's read David Goggins self help book 'You can't hurt me', please go and buy that f**king book. (Link to purchase book on Amazon at bottom of blog under photos) That book changed not only my outlook on running but most of my aspects on life. In the aftermath of the Mallow race feeling sore and beat up at home I read a stat that only 1% of the worlds population would ever complete a full marathon, that was all I needed, I quickly searched online to see when the next full marathon was in Ireland regardless of what part of the country it was in or how difficult it was. Enter Connemara. I signed up for my first full marathon 3 weeks later on April 14th with no marathon training done and the furthest distance ran prior to a 42km attempt being Mallow's 16km race. There was a weather rain warning in place and only 535 brave runners took on the challenge. I finished in 224th place running a time of 4:15:19. Thank you to my friends Gary O'Keeffe & Eoin Kennefick for travelling to Connemara with me on that day. Only they know how my pre race rituals went that morning. Straight blunts & Tupac.


In the space of the following 7 months, I managed to finish my first 100 mile (160km) ultra marathon in 24 hours 50 minutes and run another 2 full marathons, 1 of which being exactly 4 weeks after the Connemara 100. My injuries hadn't even healed properly, but I couldn't turn down the opportunity of running another race with a close friend of mine Pa Mcinerney to get him through his first full marathon and we killed it in sub 4 timing in really difficult hot weather from start to finish.


Makaveli, a $1500 purchase I definitely couldn't afford, $3000+ in eye surgeries, the $1000's it was costing me to bring you home to dad, funny & magic moments I'll never forget but can only cherish through images & videos. The price of dog food and maintainence for all your silly mistakes you were worth every penny. You had the the same size poo of a dinosaur and I was okay with it. Makaveli was an incredibly special dog to me. I had lost a dog the previous March ironically enough one year previously which we had in my family for over 8 years, he was one of a kind also and when he died I felt I would never replace him. My parents were always about the idea of adopting a rescue dog and so was I, but I really wanted a dog of my choice, a pup to raise, a selection of breeds. When I brought the idea to my family about getting Makaveli in Australia when he was 12 weeks old I was highly advised against all of it and that's probably why I went ahead with it. The youth and stubbornness of a 21 year old who just landed in Australia, what did I care, I was no longer mommy's boy at home I was free to make my own choices & decisions as a man I was growing into. Tears again.


Thanks for reading, I really hope you enjoyed this honest piece. It's taken me over a full year to talk openly about this. I invested in a self development running & mindset workshop in Siargao Island, Philippines just before Christmas and it changed my life. (Link to apply for workshop at bottom of blog) Young men, and people in general are very afraid to show a bit of vulnerability in life and they shouldn't be, it's very important for growing as individuals. This piece took me a few hours to complete, having to stop and walk away a few times the memory of it all is still edgy for me. I sent this to some friends before posting it online officially and I got some great feedback so here we are! If this in anyway encourages anybody at all to get a pair of runners, do something positive, pick up a hobby or even gives you a better attitude towards health and fitness it's a massive win for me and it will continue to fuel me on my long runs.


The average age of an ultra marathoner is 36. Youth is on my side, with recent run success and finding a new network of running friends I know I'm going to be around in this sport for years to come, I have friends that are going to go on and win ultra marathons I know it! There is no limit to ones hunger in the ultra scene and I hope you're following my journey in the near future. Since 2020 has kicked off, I've ran over 1400km's & introduced over 17,000 metres of elevation into my training so far this year, for anyone who doesn't know shit about elevation that's Irelands highest mountain Carrantouhill 14 times. I hit a PB of 211.7km's in a weeks training. I've had to move home from my training ground of Vancouver due to the global pandemic which is giving me lots of free time and most importantly I now can dedicate my entire energy on my training. I will train with any runner of any level, it doesn't matter about distance or pace I will happily get out there and chase some miles with anybody so don't be afraid to hit me up on social media and we can make plans. There is no EGO here I don't give a f**k if you're overweight and struggle to run 1km, I'll run that 1km with you. Don't worry about your pace & times when you begin running, it's a journey and everything will improve with time. It's about getting out there on the road or trails as much as you physically can! I truly and honestly believed as a 23 year old I had no niche in life other than talking shit, being on the 'sesh' (Irish slang for binge drinking) 24/7 and online gaming till I found running, that's why I'm so passionate about this sport and will continue to dedicate as much of my life as possible to it while balancing my physically draining scaffolding grind to pay the bills. I'll keep dreaming. I know podium finishes are coming my way. Stay positive during the pandemic and enjoy your loved ones company. We are living through history.


Shares are welcomed on this post,

Thank you!

All photos below, scroll down.


My next race is the Connemara 100 mile road race August 8th & The Kerry Way 200km September 4th


- Conor

Instagram - @Ciob1ultra

Twitter - @Ciob1ultra


Link to Tupac 'Last Motherf**ker breathing'


Link to David Goggins book 'You can't hurt me' on Amazon/Audio book is meant to be better


How to apply for the Siargo Sessions running and mindset self development workshop.


CBD PRODUCTS I USE ARE FROM @Highheal_ on instagram

USE CODE "Ciob1" for %15 off CBD PRODUCTS.

Photo below


14/04/19 Connemara full marathon > 224/501 place

11/08/19 Connemara 100 mile ultra marathon debut > 19/26 place

14/09/19 Kilkenny medieval full marathon > 36/325 place

17/11/19 Hardman 'Gap of Dunloe' full marathon > 7/58 place


Makaveli after 1 of 3 eye surgeries.







The blister I suffered 60 miles into my 100 mile race. It completely f**ked up my race, but my UNBELIEVABLE support crew (Rob Foster, Dommie Kelly & Kevin O'Connell) showed me TOUGH love from start to finish which was the sole reason I powered through it and completed the race 6 hours shy of the cut off time. In some weeks or months there will be a full blog upload on the Connemara 100 mile road race ultra marathon. Massive shoutout to race organizer and ultra runner Ray O'Connor, you are a legend my friend.


"Become friends with pain, and you'll never be alone"


FOLLOW @HIGHHEAL_ on Instagram and use CODE "Ciob1" for %15 off!

2,063 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page